Orange is the New Black and Fargo Win Big at Critics’ Choice TV Awards

Posted by at 9:00 am on June 23, 2014

Orange is the New Black
The winners were announced Thursday night for the 2014 Critics’ Choice TV Awards. The Broadcast Television Journalists Association honors dramas, comedies, reality TV and talk shows.
Orange is the New Black and Fargo came away as the big winners of the night, with three awards each. OITNB won for Best Comedy Series, with Kate Mulgrew winning Best Supporting Actress — but it was a tie with Mom‘s Allison Janney. (Janney also won for her role on Masters of Sex.) Fargo took home the top honor in the miniseries category.

Breaking Bad may be over, but the AMC drama is still winning awards left and right, including two Critics’ Choice TV Awards for Best Drama Series and Supporting Actor (Aaron Paul). Tying for second with Breaking Bad is the Ryan Murphy-directed HBO film The Normal Heart (Murphy was the honoree of the Louis XIII Genius Award) and Cosmos.

Other winners include The Big Bang TheoryTrue Detective and Scandal.
Also, it was announced earlier in the month that seven shows are being recognized as the Most Exciting New Series, including this summer’s Halle Berry-starring sci-fi drama Extant and Gotham, which premieres in the fall.
Here is the complete list of winners:
Best Drama Series
Breaking Bad

Best Actor in a Drama Series
Matthew McConaughey, True DetectiveBest Actress in a Drama Series

Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black 

Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

Aaron Paul, Breaking BadBest Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

Bellamy YoungScandalBest Guest Performer in a Drama Series

Allison JanneyMasters of SexBest Comedy Series

Orange is the New BlackBest Actor in a Comedy Series

Jim Parsons, The Big Bang TheoryBest Actress in a Comedy Series

Julia Louis-DreyfusVeepBest Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

Andre BraugherBrooklyn Nine-NineBest Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series — Tie

Allison JanneyMom
Kate Mulgrew, Orange is the New BlackBest Guest Performer in a Comedy Series

Uzo Aduba, Orange is the New BlackBest Movie

The Normal HeartBest Miniseries

FargoBest Actor in a Movie or Miniseries

Billy Bob Thornton, FargoBest Actress in a Movie or Miniseries

Jessica LangeAmerican Horror Story: CovenBest Supporting Actor in a Movie or Miniseries

Matt Bomer, The Normal Heart 

Best Supporting Actress in a Movie or Miniseries

Allison Tolman, Fargo 

Best Reality Series (Non-Competition)

Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey 

Best Reality Series (Competition)

Shark Tank 

Best Reality Host

Neil deGrasse Tyson, Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey
Best Talk Show
The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon 

Best Animated Series


Louis XIII Genius Award

Ryan MurphyMost Exciting New Series

Halt and Catch Fire
The Leftovers
Penny Dreadful
The Strain

Leave a Reply

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up to receive breaking news
as well as receive other site updates

Enter your Email

Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

Log in

Copyright © 2008 - 2020 · StreetCorner Media , LLC· All Rights Reserved ·