Glee: The Music, Volume 5 Available March 8 Features Original Songs for the First Time

Posted by at 5:50 pm on February 22, 2011

For the first time ever, Glee premieres two new and original songs on Glee: The Music, Volume 5, available March 8.

“Loser Like Me,” an energetic ensemble track was co-written by pop mastermind Max Martin (Britney Spears, P!nk) and “Get It Right” is a moving ballad brought to life by Lea Michele‘s immense voice. These original tracks will air in the “GLEE” episode Tuesday, March 15 at 8:00 PM ET/PT on FOX. In addition to these new tracks, Glee: The Music Vol. 5 will feature the Glee casts take on such classics as Lady Antebellum’s “Need You Now,” Katy Perry‘s “Firework” and Justin Bieber‘s “Baby.”

Paltrow Returns

 Gwyneth Paltrow makes a triumphant return to Glee and is featured on such classics as Prince’s “Kiss,” Fleetwood Mac‘s “Landslide” and Joan Jett‘s “Do You Wanna Touch Me (Oh Yeah).” Paltrow’s earlier Glee contribution, an exciting cover of Cee Lo‘s “Forget You,” was a bit hit among fans and has just been certified Gold for sales in excess of 500,000 downloads. Also featured on Glee: The Music Vol. 5  is the cast’s much talked about mashup of Michael Jackson‘s “Thriller” and the Yeah Yeah Yeah’s “Heads Will Roll” which was seen by Glee’s biggest audience to date of 26.8 million viewers (see below for full track listing).

Last week marks the biggest sales week for Glee music since the show’s inception with an astounding 880,000 songs downloaded. This outstanding feat resulted in seven Glee tracks occupying the iTunes Top Songs chart simultaneously.

To date almost 24 million Glee songs have been digitally downloaded, with nearly 9 million albums sold worldwide. The cast has  scored three consecutive #1 releases with Glee: The Music, Volume 3 Showstoppers, Glee: The Music, The Power of Madonna and Glee: The Music, Journey To Regionals.

Glee: The Music, Volume 5 Track List

  1. Thriller/Heads Will Roll
  2. Need You Now
  3. She’s Not There
  4. Fat Bottomed Girls
  5. P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing)
  6. Firework
  7. Baby
  8. Somebody To Love
  9. Take Me or Leave Me
  10. Sing
  11. Don’t You Want Me
  12. Do You Wanna Touch Me (Oh Yeah)
  13. Kiss
  14. Landslide
  15. Get It Right
  16. Loser Like Me

Leave a Reply

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up to receive breaking news
as well as receive other site updates

Enter your Email

Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

Log in

Copyright © 2008 - 2024 · StreetCorner Media , LLC· All Rights Reserved ·