The Force Awakens Passes Frozen to Become the #8 Biggest Box Office Movie of All-Time

Posted by at 11:21 am on December 31, 2015


Star Wars: The Force Awakens added $28.1 million domestically and $36.7 million overseas on Wednesday for a total of $64.8 million for the day. The Lucasfilm release has now earned $629 million in North America and $664.1 million internationally for a worldwide total of $1.293 billion.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens has now become the highest-grossing film domestically in Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures history, incredibly passing in only 13 days the entire $623.4 million total gross of Marvel’s The Avengers from 2012. In North America, the film is already the #2 movie of 2015 and #4 movie of all-time. Internationally, Star Wars: The Force Awakens is already the #5 movie of 2015 to date. Globally, Star Wars: The Force Awakens is the #4 movie of 2015 to date and has now become the #8 movie of all-time (passing Frozen‘s $1.277 billion).

Here are the international totals so far:

United Kingdom $124.6M
Germany $70.6M
France $59.2M
Australia $44.1M
Japan $40.6M
Spain $23.5M
Mexico $22.2M
Italy $22.0M
Korea $19.9M
Russia $19.3M
Brazil $18.6M
Sweden $13.2M
Poland $11.2M
Other $175.3M
Total $664.1M

The film will open in China on January 9.

Directed by J.J. Abrams, the movie stars Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew and Max Von Sydow. Kathleen Kennedy, J.J. Abrams and Bryan Burk produced the film with Tommy Harper and Jason McGatlin serving as executive producers. The screenplay is by Lawrence Kasdan & J.J. Abrams and Michael Arndt.

Leave a Reply

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up to receive breaking news
as well as receive other site updates

Enter your Email

Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

Log in

Copyright © 2008 - 2020 · StreetCorner Media , LLC· All Rights Reserved ·