FOX Winter Premiere Schedule Is Now Known

Posted by at 10:55 am on November 11, 2015


FOX has today announced their upcoming winter 2016 schedule. In addition to new series like the ensemble comedy “Cooper Barrett’s Guide to Surviving Life” and the animated “Bordertown,” the FOX winter lineup will include returning favorites like “New Girl,” “Sleepy Hollow,” and more.

Following an all-new “The Simpsons,” (8:00-8:30 PM ET/PT), “Cooper Barrett’s Guide to Surviving Life” will premiere Sunday, January 3, 2016. The series follows the charming misadventures of Cooper Barrettt (Jack Cutmore-Scott, Kingsman: The Secret Service) and his friends as they struggle through messy, terrible and hilarious disasters – a night in jail, crazy ex-girlfriends, going broke – giving us guidance so we can avoid the same mistakes.

After “Cooper Barrett’s Guide to Surviving Life,” the FOX winter lineup continues January 3 with a new “Family Guy” (9:00-9:30 PM ET/PT), followed by the season premiere of “Bordertown”. A satirical look at the cultural shifts taking place in America, the series explores family, politics and everything in between. The comedy centers on two very different families living in a fictional Southwest desert town on the U.S. – Mexico border and stars Hank Azaria, Alex Borstein, Judah Friedlander, Nicholas Gonzalez and Missi Pyle.

The FOX winter lineup continues January 5 with the season five premiere of “New Girl” (8:00-8:30 PM ET/PT), the time period premiere of “Grandfathered,” (8:30-9:00 PM ET/PT), an all-new episodes of “Brooklyn Nine-Nine” on a new night and time (9:00-9:30 PM ET/PT) and the time period premiere of “The Grinder” (9:30-10:00 PM ET/PT).

American Idol” will begin its 15th – and farewell – season with a special two-night, four-hour premiere event Wednesday, January 6 (8:00-10:00 PM ET/PT) and Thursday, January 7 (8:00-10:00 PM ET/PT). A season-long celebratory event, “American Idol” will feature host Ryan Seacrest and judges Jennifer Lopez, Keith Urban and Harry Connick, Jr., as they discover an Idol one last time, and pay tribute to the past 14 seasons of amazingly talented contestants and the millions of fans who phoned, tweeted, texted and championed their favorites.

New drama “Second Chance” (formerly “Lookinglass”) debuts Wednesday, January 13 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT), following the time-period premiere of “American Idol” (8:00-9:00 PM ET/PT). Rob Kazinsky (“True Blood”) stars as a disgraced, 75-year-old ex-sheriff, who dies at the hands of corrupt cops. He is brought back to life – by a pair of young tech scientists who are founders of a social networking empire – and given a second chance as a 35-year-old with unpredictable near-superhuman abilities.

Masterchef Junior” continues on Fridays returning with a special two-hour episode on Friday, January 8 (8:00-10:00 PM ET/PT). “Hell’s Kitchen,” starring fiery chef Gordon Ramsay, cooks up its 15th season beginning Friday, January 15 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT), following an all-new episode of “Masterchef Junior” in its regular time period (8:00-9:00 PM ET/PT).

Lucifer,” the new drama starring Tom Ellis (“Merlin”), joins the FOX winter lineup when the series premieres Monday, January 25 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT), after the time period premiere of “The X-Files” (8:00-9:00 PM ET/PT). Based upon the characters from DC Entertainment’s Vertigo imprint, the series tells the story of Lucifer Morningstar (Ellis), the Lord of Hell, who has abandoned his throne and retired to L.A. When he is introduced to LAPD homicide detective Chloe Decker (Lauren German, “Chicago Fire”), Lucifer becomes intrigued by her compassion for humanity, which causes a struggle between his temptation toward the side of Good and his original calling toward Evil.

As previously announced, Superhuman, a new two-hour special is part of the FOX winter lineup. Hosted by actor Kal Penn, Superhuman will premiere Monday, Jan. 4 (8:00-10:00 PM ET/PT).

The X-Files” is set to return with a special two-night event beginning Sunday, Jan. 24 (10:00-11:00 PM ET/7:00-8:00 PM PT), following the NFC Championship Game. “The X-Files” will then continue with its time period premiere on Monday, January 25 (8:00-9:00 PM ET/PT).

Grease: Live, a three-hour production of the musical, will air live Sunday, January  31 (7:00-10:00 PM ET live/PT tape-delayed). This first-ever live television production of Grease, the special will reintroduce and reimagine some of the show’s most memorable moments, great music and timeless love story to an entirely new generation.

Sleepy Hollow,” which has its fall finale on Thursday, Nov. 19, moves to Fridays when it returns for the FOX winter lineup with all-new episodes on February 5 (8:00-9:00 PM ET/PT). After “The X-Files” concludes its six-episode run, “Gotham” will make its spring return Monday, February 29 (8:00-9:00 PM ET/PT). Later that week, the Morris Chestnut-starrer “Rosewood” returns on Wednesday, March 2 (8:00-9:00 PM ET/PT) while “Empire” begins the second part of its second season Wednesday, March 30 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT).

Return dates for “Bones” and “The Last Man on Earth” will be announced at a later date.

Leave a Reply

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up to receive breaking news
as well as receive other site updates

Enter your Email

Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

Log in

Copyright © 2008 - 2024 · StreetCorner Media , LLC· All Rights Reserved ·