Emmy Nominees Look for Repeat Wins at This Year’s Event

Posted by at 4:53 pm on September 22, 2013

30 RockSeveral of this year’s Emmy nominees are perennial favorites who are looking to add a few more of the golden trophies to their already large collections.

At the ceremony, to be broadcast on CBS and hosted by Neil Patrick Harris, American Horror Story is up for a leading 17 awards total, including best miniseries or movie and lead actress in a miniseries for Jessica Lange. (The star won for supporting actress last year.)

Modern Family looks to add to its fourth consecutive best comedy win at Sunday night’s 65th Emmy Awards, while the drama Homeland and its cast aim to add to their 2012 wins.

Game of Thrones is up for honors in 16 categories, including supporting actress (Emilia Clarke) and supporting actor (Peter Dinklage) in a drama, as well as the fully stocked category for best drama, where the HBO fantasy faces Homeland, Downton Abbey, House of Cards, Mad Men and Breaking Bad.

Breaking Bad star Bryan Cranston will go for his fourth Emmy for playing Walter White against 2012 winner Damian Lewis (Homeland), Jeff Daniels (The Newsroom), Kevin Spacey (House of Cards), Hugh Bonneville (Downton Abbey) and Jon Hamm (Mad Men), who’s been nominated in the category six years straight but never won.

Homeland star Claire Danes also is vying for a repeat win for lead drama actress against Connie Britton (Nashville), Michelle Dockery (Downton Abbey), Elisabeth Moss (Mad Men), and first-time Emmy nominees Vera Farmiga (Bates Motel), Kerry Washington (Scandal) and Robin Wright (House of Cards).

In best comedy, Modern Family seeks to continue its dominance and faces competition from ratings juggernaut The Big Bang Theory, 30 Rock, Girls, Louie and Veep. Big Bang Theory star Jim Parsons is in the lead-comedy-actor field with fellow two-time winner Alec Baldwin (30 Rock) as well as Louis C.K. (Louis), Don Cheadle (House of Lies), Matt LeBlanc (Episodes) and Jason Bateman (Arrested Development).

Julia Louis-Dreyfus of Veep defends her crown for lead comedy actress vs. Laura Dern (Enlightened), Lena Dunham (Girls), 2010 winner Edie Falco (Nurse Jackie), 2008 honoree Tina Fey (30 Rock) and Amy Poehler (Parks and Recreation).

American Horror Story squares off in the outstanding miniseries or movie category with the HBO films Behind the Candelabra and Phil Spector, The Bible, Political Animals and Top of the Lake. Netflix could make history if House of Cards wins best drama or Spacey, Wright or Bateman are honored in their lead categories — it would be the first Emmy to go to a show not aired on a traditional broadcast or cable network.

Leave a Reply

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up to receive breaking news
as well as receive other site updates

Enter your Email

Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

Log in

Copyright © 2008 - 2024 · StreetCorner Media , LLC· All Rights Reserved ·