The Force Awakens Nabs a Best Picture Critics Choice Nomination

Posted by at 9:15 am on December 23, 2015


The Broadcast Film Critics Association today announced that Star Wars: The Force Awakens has earned a Critics’ Choice nomination for Best Picture. Winners will be revealed at the 21st annual Critics’ Choice Awards show on January 17th, televised live at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on A&E, Lifetime and LMN and hosted by T.J. Miller.

The film was not screened for BFCA voters in time for the initial nominations balloting, but after members of the nation’s largest film critics group saw Star Wars: The Force Awakens last week it was decided to hold a special referendum yesterday to determine if it would have been nominated if the BFCA membership had been able to consider it.

The exception was made for only the Best Picture category and all other Critics’ Choice Award nominations remain as previously announced.

While making an amendment to the Critics’ Choice Awards nominations is highly unusual, having an 11th Best Picture nominee is not unprecedented. In 2000, Cast Away was similarly screened too late for normal consideration and the BFCA included it among 11 Best Picture nominees.

It is the purpose of the Critics’ Choice Awards to honor the finest in cinematic and television achievement. Making this exception to our rules serves this purpose. Historically, the “Critics’ Choice Awards” are the most accurate predictor of the Academy Award nominations.

“The 21st Annual Critics’ Choice Awards” will be produced by Bob Bain Productions and Berlin Entertainment.

Leave a Reply

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up to receive breaking news
as well as receive other site updates

Enter your Email

Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

Log in

Copyright © 2008 - 2020 · StreetCorner Media , LLC· All Rights Reserved ·