Directors for Game of Thrones Season 7 Announced

Posted by at 12:50 pm on June 29, 2016

Game of Thrones

HBO has announced (via EW) the official list of directors for the upcoming seventh season of Game of Thrones and it includes some of the show’s heavy hitters.

Among those set to helm the episodes include Alan Taylor, who previously helmed the ninth and 10th episodes of the show’s first season and four episodes of season 2 before going on to direct Thor: The Dark World and Terminator: Genisys; Jeremy Podeswa, who directed two episodes of season five and the first two episodes of season six; Mark Mylod, who directed the season six episode “The Broken Man,” which brought The Hound back into the series; and Matt Shakman, who is a newcomer to the series but has previously directed 39 episodes of It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia and 6 episodes of The Good Wife among many other TV shows.

Game of Thrones executive producers David Benioff and D.B. Weiss have previously confirmed that the upcoming season will be shorter than the regular 10 episodes, noting that currently they only expect 13 episodes remaining across the next two seasons. Production on Game of Thrones season 7 is set to begin in July for a 2017 premiere date.

Based on the popular book series “A Song of Ice and Fire,” by George R.R. Martin, the hit Emmy-winning fantasy series chronicles an epic struggle for power in a vast and violent kingdom. The ensemble cast for the series includes Emmy and Golden Globe winner Peter Dinklage, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Lena Headey, Emilia Clarke, Aidan Gillen, Kit Harington, Diana Rigg, Maisie Williams and Sophie Turner.

1 Comment for “Directors for Game of Thrones Season 7 Announced”

  1. This season was incredible … can’t wait for season 7!

Leave a Reply

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up to receive breaking news
as well as receive other site updates

Enter your Email

Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

Log in

Copyright © 2008 - 2020 · StreetCorner Media , LLC· All Rights Reserved ·