The 2015 Writers Guild Awards Nominees

Posted by at 1:42 pm on January 7, 2015


The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) have announced nominations for outstanding achievement in writing for the screen during 2014. Winners will be honored at the 2015 Writers Guild Awards on Saturday, February 14, 2015, at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York City.

The Original Screenplay nominations include:

  • Boyhood, Written by Richard Linklater (IFC Films)
  • Foxcatcher, Written by E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman (Sony Pictures Classics)
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel, Screenplay by Wes Anderson with Story by Wes Anderson & Hugo Guinnesss (Fox Searchlight)
  • Nightcrawler, Written by Dan Gilroy (Open Road Films)
  • Whiplash, Written by Damien Chazelle (Sony Pictures Classics)

Adapted Screenplay nominations, meanwhile, are as follows:

  • American Sniper, Written by Jason Hall, based on the book by Chris Kyle with Scott McEwen and Jim DeFelice (Warner Bros.)
  • Gone Girl, Screenplay by Gillian Flynn, based on her novel (20th Century Fox)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy, Written by James Gunn and Nicole Perlman, based on the Marvel Comic by Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning (Walt Disney Studios)
  • The Imitation Game, Written by Graham Moore, based on the book “Alan Turing: The Enigma” by Andrew Hodges (The Weinstein Company)
  • Wild, Screenplay by Graham Moore, based on the book by Cheryl Strayed (Fox Searchlight)

Finally, Documentary Screenplay nominees include:

  • Finding Vivian Maier, Written by John Maloof & Charlie Siskel (Sundance Selects)
  • The Internet’s Own Boy: The Story of Aaron Swartz, Written by Brian Knappenberger (FilmBuff)
  • Last Days in Vietnam, Written by Mark Bailey & Kevin McAlester (American Experience Films)
  • Red Army, Written by Gabe Polsky (Sony Pictures Classics)

Feature films eligible for a Writers Guild Award were exhibited theatrically for at least one week in Los Angeles during 2014 and were written under the WGA’s Minimum Basic Agreement (MBA) or under a bona fide collective bargaining agreement of the Writers Guild of Canada, Writers Guild of Great Britain, Irish Playwrights & Screenwriters Guild, or the New Zealand Writers Guild. Theatrical screenplays produced under the jurisdiction of the WGA or an affiliate Guild must have been submitted for Writers Guild Awards consideration.

Documentaries eligible for a Writers Guild Award featured an onscreen writing credit and were exhibited theatrically in Los Angeles or New York for one week during 2014. Theatrical documentaries must have been produced under the jurisdiction of the WGA or an affiliate Guild to be eligible for awards consideration.

The Writers Guild Awards honor outstanding writing in film, television, new media, videogames, news, radio, promotional, and graphic animation categories. The awards will be presented jointly at simultaneous ceremonies on Saturday, February 14, 2015, in Los Angeles at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza and in New York City at the Edison Ballroom.

Leave a Reply

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up to receive breaking news
as well as receive other site updates

Enter your Email

Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

Log in

Copyright © 2008 - 2020 · StreetCorner Media , LLC· All Rights Reserved ·